Posted on

World Whiskies Awards 2016

World Whiskies Awards 2016

The final votes for the World Whiskies Awards 2016 have been counted and were announced on 17 March 2016. Unfortunately very few of the winners are available in South Africa, hopefully we will get to taste some of them at this year’s Whiskylive Festival

World Whiskies Awards 2016 – the winners

The World Whiskies Awards are organised by and presented by Whisky Magazine and, and as always the judging is conducted by a panel of whisky experts. The judges taste numbered samples, and so have very little idea of what they are tasting. This, in my opinion, is what makes the World Whiskies Awards a true guage of quality.

  • The World’s Best Single Malt Whisky 2016

        Old Pulteney Vintage 1989

  • The World’s Best Blended Whisky 2016

        Suntory Hibiki 21 Years Old

  • The World’s Best Blended Malt Whisky 2016

        Reference Series III.2

  • The World’s Best Grain Whisky 2016

        The Fuji-Gotemba Distillery Single Grain 25 Years Old Small Batch

  • The World’s Best Bourbon Whiskey 2016

        Abraham Bowman Pioneer Spirit

  • The World’s Best Single Pot Still 2016

        Green Spot Château Léoville Barton

  • The World’s Best Rye Whisky 2016

        Pikesville Rye

  • The World’s Best Corn Whisky 2016

        Balcones True Blue 100 Proof

  • The World’s Best Wheat Whisky 2016

        Bernheim Original Straight Wheat Whiskey

  • The World’s Best Single Cask Single Malt Whisky 2016

        Kavalan Solist Amontillado Sherry Single Cask Strength

  • The World’s Best Blended Limited Release Whisky 2016

        Glen Alba 22 Years Old Blended

  • The World’s Best Single Barrel Bourbon Whiskey 2016

    Smooth Ambler Old Scout
  • The World’s Best Canadian Blended Whiskey 2016

        Gooderham & Worts

Click here for the complete list of all category winners.